My new free T-mobile Wing (HTC Herald)

13 06 2007

Tmobile T-mobile Wing (HTC Herald) hands on photos selectroclash mac harris

My aging T-mobile MDA (a.k.a. HTC Wizard) bit the dust this weekend so I called up T-mobile for an in-warranty exchange unit. They told me that since my most recent MDA had been replaced by Asurion, the handset insurance provider, that it was up to them to replace the device. So after the usual troubleshooting steps with the Asurion tech, they were ready to send me a refurbished MDA to replace my dead one. But it looks like their stocks of MDA’s have finally run dry; less than 24 hours later a brand new T-mobile Wing (a.k.a. HTC Herald) showed up on my desk at work. 100% Free! If my MDA hadn’t broken or was out of warranty I would have to pay five hundred bucks for this thing ($499.99 from T-mobile without a service contract).

Tmobile T-mobile Wing (HTC Herald) hands on photos selectroclash mac harris 2 Not only does this bad boy run the new Windows Mobile 6 Professional, it’s got an upgraded 2 megapixel video camera, a new processor and more memory; all in a form factor much slimmer than my chunky ole MDA. The exterior is a sexy midnight blue color and feels like soft rubber rather than cheap Taiwanese silver toy plastic on the MDA. The screen has a spring loaded sliding action that’s infinitely better than the stickly heavy slide action of its predecessor. I popped in my 2GB microSD card and it immediately loaded up all my tunes into a new Today screen plugin.

Overall I am really liking this device, but we’ll see if it lasts longer than my many, many MDA’s (see here). Here are some comparison pics with my old MDA and my Blackberry 8700 too.

Tmobile T-mobile Wing (HTC Herald) hands on photos selectroclash mac harris 3

Tmobile T-mobile Wing (HTC Herald) hands on photos selectroclash mac harris 4

Actions

Information

14 responses

25 06 2007
Mario

Doesn’t Asurion charge a deductible of app. $110? Still a good deal, but not the 100% free that you claimed. I just called in the hopes of getting a replacement and was informed of the deductible.

11 07 2007
Doug

There isn’t a charge for replacing a defective unit. Lost would be the $110 deductible.

11 07 2007
Joey barney

Why did Asurian replace the MDA the first time?

27 08 2007
Stephanie Carbone

Really? I had mine replaced July 10th and I got an MDA. When did you replace it? I’ve had my MDA replaced 3 times and I am hoping to get the wing.

25 09 2007
Nikki

My MDA just broke (only on the inside) because I tried to update it with the WM6 rom and I had unlocked it previously — was wondering if they still let you return it and get a new phone (would prefer the Wing, but don’t care if I get the MDA) even if the old phone was unlocked? I read somewhere that if you unlock it, it voids the warranty? Mine is still under warranty for the next two days… Pls write back!

4 10 2007
Destiny

i got a T-Mobile sidekick 3 but i want a wing or MDA instead how can i get it for cheap

15 12 2007
Curious

I just filed a claim with Asurion because my mda got stolen. They told me I’d get a new mda package not refurbished. Do I have a good chance of getting the wing instead? The guy didn’t mention the wing, but the tmobile rep told me that some of her friends have been sent the wing instead

19 01 2008
keane

Brand new mobile phone at cheap price all our product is brand new unlocked with complete accessories with one year international warranty.

Email address ; t-mobile_inc@hotmail.com

Nokia n95 8gb $350usd
iphone 8gb $280usd
Ps3 60gb $300usd
T-mobile wing $150usd
Sidekick 3 $170usd

T-mobilw Wing Phone Features
Messaging

* Instant messaging: Yahoo!®, MSN®, and AOL®*
* Text messaging

Communication

* Built-in QWERTY Keypad
* E-mail*
* myFaves capable*
* Bluetooth® wireless technology

Assistants

* Windows Mobile®
* Wireless calendar synchronization with Outlook

Fun

* 2.0 megapixel camera
* Video camera
* Windows Media® Player
* MegaTones®, Wallpaper, HiFi Ringers®, & Games*

Information

* GPRS/EDGE and Wi-Fi enabled*
* Voice-activated functions
* Micro SD memory slot
* Real web browsing

Basics
# Included battery: Li-Ion polymer
# Talk time: up to 4 hours
# Standby time: up to 6 days
# Band (frequency): 850 MHz;900 MHz;1800 MHz;1900 MHz
# Size: 2.3 x 4.3 x 0.7 inches

We make shipment fast via UPS and FEDEX shipping company 2days deliver ok.

And many more at cheap price if you are interested in buying contact us via Email addres below….

Email address ; t-mobile_inc@hotmail.com

6 02 2008
guti

Brand new mobile phone at cheap price all our product is brand new
unlocked with complete accessories with one year international
warranty.

Email address ;tell_ltd@outgun.com
Blackberry 8320 $250usd
Samsung armani p520 $290usd
Nokia n95 8gb $350usd
iphone 8gb $280usd
Ps3 60gb $300usd

BlackBerry Curve 8320 smartphone is the smallest and lightest BlackBerry smartphone ever to come with a full QWERTY keyboard. It’s packed with incredible features, including a camera, media player, Wi-Fi capabilities, expandable memory, Voice Dialling, BlackBerry Maps and trackball navigation.

balckberry 8320 Key Features:
– Java
– Media player
– BlackBerry maps
– Organizer
– Calculator
– Voice dial
– Built-in handsfree
– To-do list
– Bluetooth
– WiFi
– EDGE
– GPRS

Size:
Weight – 111 g
Dimensions – 107 x 60 x 15.5 mm

And many more at cheap price if you are interested in buying contact
us via Email addres below….

Email address ;tell_ltd@outgun.com

9 02 2008
greg

Apple iPhone 8GB – UNLOCKED
Apple iPhone Unlocked Quadband GSM Phone. Apple has combined three … Photocall Call records Yes Card slot No 8 GB shared memory Data GPRS Yes HSCSD No …

email us :e_storeltd@yahoo.com

10 07 2008
Taylor

I just recently received the T-Mobile Wing and I love it there were just some important things that were left out at the time of purchase. Such as adding the Fav Five at a later time and adding the insurance at a later time there were several features that were not included that I thought I had already paid for. They charged my account $270.00 and I didn’t get any features in that charge.

7 10 2008
Sydala

I recently bought the Wing. I wanted to upgrade my Sony Ericsson w300i with another Ericsson walkman model, but I saw the wing and loved it. You have to add the internet feature of course if you truly want to enjoy this beautiful phone. The only bad thing I’ve noticed is that it tends to freeze. For example if you assigned a ringtone to your text messages and/or the vibrate, it sticks, so the music keeps playin non-stop and it keeps vibrating and if you get too many texts at the same time it freezes the screen. I’ve been told that this is a common thing with the Windos Mobile, which sucks. But the phone is gorgeous and the features are very good. I recommend it, but only if you want to end up broke until your next check comes in, lol. I have to pay $275 for it.

21 02 2010
freeSMS-india

Excellent Post, Carry On ………

28 11 2013
Barbara Kolaga

iPhone 4 is awesome handles amazingly. Just got new case. Wonderful article!

Leave a Reply

